On September 24, 1962, Articles of Incorporation were signed by representatives of Berkeley Baptist Divinity School (now Berkeley School of Theology), Church Divinity School of the Pacific, Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary, and San Francisco Theological Seminary in order to offer a cooperative graduate program leading to a Th.D. degree. Golden Gate Baptist Theological Seminary was also a participant but withdrew due to synod concerns.